The Seven-Judge Bench That Will Decide Raila’s Election Petition

August 18, 2017

In a case of history repeating itself, President Uhuru Kenyatta and Mr Raila Odinga, just like in 2013, will have their fate determined by the Supreme Court.

The Raila-led NASA team, after lengthy consultations, on Wednesday announced that it will take its objections to the outcome of the August 8 election to court.

Read: Full Text: Raila’s Statement on Nasa Decision to Go to The Supreme Court

Raila’s petition will be heard by a seven-Judge-bench.

Depending on the submissions and evidence provided by Nasa, the seven Judges will either uphold IEBC’s declaration of Mr. Kenyatta as the President-elect or annul his re-election.

If the bench is convinced that indeed there were election irregularities, it will annul the results and direct IEBC to conduct a fresh poll in 60-days time.

The determination of the case is expected 14 days from the date of filing the petition.

The bench comprises of Chief Justice David Maraga, Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, and Justices Jackton Ojwang’, Mohamed Ibrahim, Njoki Ndung’u, Smokin Wanjala and Isaac Lenaola.

David Maraga – Chief Justice(CJ) and President of the Supreme Court 

Lady Justice Philomena Mbete Mwilu-Deputy Chief Justice and Vice President of the Court

Prof. Jackton Boma Ojwang

Justice Mohamed Khadhar Ibrahim

Lady Justice Njoki Susanna Ndung’u

Justice Isaac Lenaola

Justice (Dr.) Smokin Wanjala

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss