Ruto’s UDA Welcomes Six Political Parties

March 15, 2023

United Democratic Alliance (UDA) Secretary-General Cleophas Malala has announced that six political parties have joined the ruling party.

In a statement Tuesday, Malala welcomed the six parties to the “UDA family” and said they will participate in all party activities.

Malala however said the new parties will have to first go through the Registrar of Political Parties before they can officially join UDA.

“Parties have a right to choose where they belong. Some will choose to be independent parties and we will still work with them, some have agreed to join UDA…we welcome them and we will make sure they belong to our party and we will make them officials and members of our party. We have given them a go-ahead to participate in the grassroots election of UDA,” said the UDA Sec. Gen.

The parties include Chama Cha Kazi (CCK), led by James Kimani and chaired by Trade Cabinet Secretary (CS) Moses Kuria; Umoja na Maendeleo Party led by former Embu governor Martin Wambora; Chama Cha Mashinani (CCM) headed by Isaac Ruto.

Others are Farmers Party of Kenya led by former PS Irungu Nyakera, National Agenda Party of Kenya (Alfayo Agufana), and Economic Freedom Party led by Isaac Hassan Abey.

Malala said the decision by the parties to fold and join UDA was a clear indication of the growing support for President Ruto’s manifesto among Kenyans.

He praised the parties for making the “selfless decision” assuring them that they have made a noble decision.

“My brothers, you will not regret this bold decision,” he said.

Malala added: “The leaders and representatives of these parties have unconditionally agreed to provide political tranquillity in Kenya and support the Kenya Kwanza Administration in bringing all Kenyans together so that President William Ruto’s manifesto to Kenyans can be achieved.”

Don't Miss