Nairobi County One of Four Major Cholera Hotspots, Says Health PS

July 27, 2017

The government, through the Ministry of Health, has identified four counties as major cholera hotspots in the country.

Health Principal Secretary Julius Korir said Kisumu, Garissa, Machakos, and Nairobi counties have been mapped out as hotspots.

He said the national government is working with the county governments to address the outbreak.

“In Nairobi six treatment centres have been opened at Mukuru Kwa Njega, Mukuru Kwa Reuben and Huruma,” said Mr Korir.

Mr Korir added that the government has sought the help of international bodies such World Health Organization in mitigating the outbreak.

He was speaking during the 10th edition of the Kenya Medical Training College annual sports competition.

“The outbreak was first reported in April and we have recorded 120 cases.”

The PS said Nairobi was hit hardest but the number of new infections is on a decline.

As of last week, at least 50 people were admitted to Kenyatta Hospital.

“We have patients from Kileleshwa, Githurai, Kawangware, Pipeline, Mukuru kwa Njenga and Embakasi South,” said a nurse at the hospital’s emergency wing, which is now awash with patients suffering from cholera.

Kenyans have been advised to boil drinking water and wash their hands after going to the toilet and before they eat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss