ODM Summons 28 MPs Over Finance Bill Vote

June 16, 2023

Twenty-eight Opposition members belonging to the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) are facing disciplinary action for alleged defiance against the party’s stance on the Finance Bill 2023.

The Raila Odinga-led party has summoned the MPs who were absent during the voting on the second reading of the Finance Bill 2023 on Wednesday, as well as those who voted in favor of it.

In a letter addressed to the 28 MPs, ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna gave them a 48-hour ultimatum to respond and provide reasons as to why disciplinary action should not be taken against them.

“The Party is in receipt of many complaints from its general membership regarding the conduct of its members of National Assembly during yesterday’s vote on the Finance Bill, 2023.

“In line with the party disciplinary rules, notices to show cause why disciplinary action should not be taken have been issued to the said members. They are expected to respond within the next 48 hours,” Sifuna wrote on Thursday.

ODM identified those who voted Yes for the Bill as follows: Nairobi Woman Representative Esther Passaris, Wajir South MP Adow Mohamed, Gem’s Elisha Odhiambo, and Caroli Omondi of Suba South.

The following ODM MPs were absent during the vote:

  1. John Mbadi – Nominated
  2. Said Buya Hiribae – Galole Constituency
  3. Mohamed Abdikadir Hussein – Lagdera Constituency
  4. Paul Ekwom Nabuin – Turkana North Constituency
  5. John Namoit Ariko – Turkana South Constituency
  6. Hamisi Kakuta Maimai – Kajiaodo East Constituency
  7. Parashina Samuel Sakimba – Kajiado South Constituency
  8. Titus Khamala Mukhawana – Lurambi Constituency
  9. Johnson Naicca Manya – Mumias West Constituency
  10. Peter Oscar Nabulindo – Matungu Constituency
  11. Nicholas Scott Tindi Mwale – Butere Constituency
  12. Christopher Wangaya Aseka – Khwisero Constituency
  13. Joseph Maero Oyula – Butula Constituency
  14. Wilberforce Ojiambo Oundo – Funyula Constituency
  15. Gideon Ochanda Ogolla – Bondo Constituency
  16. Paul Otiende Amollo – Rarieda Constituency
  17. Eve Akinyi Obara – Kasipul Constituency
  18. Paul Abuor – Rongo Constituency
  19. Ogolla Mark Nyarnita – Uriri Constituency
  20. Daniel Ogwoka Manduku – Nyaribari Masaba Constituency
  21. Phelix Odiwuor Kodhe – Lang’ata Constituency
  22. Francis Tom Joseph Kajwang – Ruaraka Constituency
  23. Paul Ongili Babu Owino – Embakasi East Constituency
  24. Irene Nyakerario Mayaka – Nominated

Don't Miss