Rigathi, Waiguru, Sonko, Babu Owino ‘Red Carded’ From August Polls

May 23, 2022

Kenya Kwanza Alliance presidential running mate Rigathi Gachagua is among a list of political aspirants the National Integrity Alliance (NIA) has ‘red-carded’ from vying in the August General Election.

NIA is a citizen-centered integrity and anti-corruption coalition comprising Transparency International Kenya (TI-Kenya), Inuka Kenya Ni Sisi!, Mzalendo Trust, The Institute for Social Accountability (TISA), and The Kenya Human Rights Commission (KHRC).

As part of this year’s NIA Red Card Campaign, the Integrity Alliance on Sunday released the names of politicians with ‘questionable’ integrity.

​​”We have been closely monitoring key developments in regard to the enforcement of Chapter 6 of the Constitution on leadership and integrity. With the 9 h August 2022 general elections drawing closer, we note that various political formations have nominated candidates to vie for elective seats, and various individuals have also presented themselves to contest as independent candidates,” NIA said in a statement.

“Regrettably a number of these political aspirants have tainted integrity.”

NIA said the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) should not clear the individuals. They include Gachagua, Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru, Mike Sonko, Embakasi East MP Babu Owino, Oscar Sudi, former Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero among others.

Below is the complete list of the leaders NIA has red-carded:

  • Aisha Jumwa – Malindi gubernatorial aspirant

  • Ali Korane – Garissa gubernatorial aspirant

  • Anne Waiguru – Kirinyaga gubernatorial aspirant

  • Babu Owino – Embakasi East MP aspirant

  • Cleophas Malala – Kakamega gubernatorial aspirant

  • Daniel Manduku – Nyaribari Masaba MP aspirant

  • Didmus Barasa – Kimilili MP aspirant

  • Evans Kidero – Homa Bay gubernatorial aspirant

  • Fahim Twaha – Lamu gubernatorial aspirant

  • Godhana Dhadho Gaddae – Tana River gubernatorial aspirant

  • Johanna Ng’eno – Emurrua Dikir MP aspirant

  • John Walukhe – Sirisia MP aspirant

  • Joseph Samal – Isiolo North MP aspirant

  • Kembi Gitura- Muranga senatorial aspirant

  • Lilian Omollo – Embu senatorial aspirant

  • Mathew Lempurkel – Laikipia North MP aspirant

  • Mike Mbuvi Sonko – Mombasa gubernatorial aspirant

  • Mohamed Abdi Mohamud – Wajir gubernatorial aspirant

  • Muthomi Njuki – Tharaka Nithi gubernatorial aspirant

  • Oscar Sudi – Kapseret MP aspirant

  • Phillip Kaloki – Nairobi county deputy gubernatorial aspirant

  • Rigathi Gachagua – Deputy President nominee

  • Samson Cherargei – Nandi senatorial aspirant

  • Samuel Arama – Nakuru Town West MP aspirant

  • Sospeter Ojaamong’ – Teso South MP aspirant

NIA said the Red Card 2022 list was generated from authentic and trusted investigative reports.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss