Mutula Kilonzo And Esther Murugi Nominated For The Gay and Lesbian Awards

December 12, 2012
The National Gay and Lesbian Human Rights Commission (NGLHRC), has organized the Gay and Lesbian Awards. The awards committee picked the nominees from applications received until December 1st. According to Eric Gitari from the NGLHRC, the nominees ‘represent the diverse contributions and efforts currently in place to ensure LGBTIQ persons are recognized, respected and accorded their full menu of human rights.’

Below are some of the nominees for what has been dubbed Gay and Lesbian Awards of Kenya (KeGALA), as provided by Identity Kenya.

SHUJAA – Lifetime Achievement Award for ‘impeccable track record of service to LGBTI human rights’
  • David Kuria Mbote
  • Lady Justice Monica Mbaru
  • Pouline Kimanni
  • Nguru Karugu
  • Kate Kamunde Kathambi
UTUMISHI – LGBTI Community Organization Achievement Award for ‘service for and development of contemporary and creative measures for effective  exercise of  LGBTI persons’
  • Gay and Lesbian Coalition of Kenya (GALCK) – Nairobi
  • NYAWEK Coalition – Kisumu
  • Upper Rift Minorities (URM)
  • Out In Kenya – Nairobi
  • PEMA- Kenya
SAUTI – Journalist Of The Year Award for ‘substantial, balanced reporting on LGBTI human rights issues in mainstream media’
  • Anne Soi-Mwendia ‘Muffled Killers’- KTN
  • Monica Mwangi – The Star
  • Stella Kasina ‘The Invisible Bridge’- K24
  • Joy Wanja –NTV
  • Patrick Rukwaro- Internews In Kenya
DINI – Religion/Faith Award for ‘promotion of dialogue on faith, gender, sex, sexuality and Scripture/religious teachings’
  • Other Sheep Kenya
  • St Sebastian –KIPE Kisumu
  • Mavuno Church
  • Other Sheep Africa
  • Gay Kenya Trust’s Muslim Brothers and Sisters

SIMON MAMICHA’ AWARD for ‘greatest contribution in the fight against HIV among LGBTIQ individuals in Kenya’
  • John Mathenge – HOYMAS
  • Mombo ‘Mantully’ Ngua – Independent Activist
  • Mutisya Leonard – KIPE Kenya
  • Lorna Dias – LVCT Kenya
  • Dr Nicholas Muraguri

MWAJIRI – Employer of the Year Award for ‘employers that have been non-discriminating in hiring LGBTIQ individuals, and are creating an affirming and supportive work environment and promoting sexual diversity and LGBTIQ culture in the workforce’
  • Duke of Breeze Hotel, Kisumu
  • HIAS Trust in Kenya, Nairobi
  • Google Kenya
  • Coca-Cola East and Central Africa
  • Fahamu Africa
MWONGOZI  – Politician/Public Servant Award for ‘political leaders/ politicians who have contributed significantly to promotion of equality and nondiscrimination of LGBTIQ individuals, including challenging negative cultural attitudes, protecting LGBTIQ individuals from maltreatment and/or initiating campaigns to fight homo/transphobia’
  • Mutula Kilonzo, MP, Minister
  • Kingwa Kamencu, Aspirant
  • Esther Murugi, MP, Minister
  • Willy Mutunga, Chief Justice
  • Makau Mutua, KHRC Chairman
The awards ceremony will be held at Charterhall on Saturday, December 15th 2012 from 6-9pm. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss