Jicho Pevu’s Mohammed Ali Is Journalist of The Year.

May 10, 2012

Journalist of the year–> Mohammed Ali.

Winners of the inaugural Annual Media Council of Kenya Journalism Awards were feted in Nairobi on 4th May 2012.The awards were part of the two major events that  the Media Council of Kenya had organized around the World Press Freedom Day celebrations between 2nd and 4th of May 2012. The other event was the East African Journalists’ Convention. The media awards were organized under the Communication for Development (C4D) partnership between the Media Council of Kenya, the Ministry of Information and  Communications, the School of Journalism of the University of Nairobi and UNDP.
From 2013, the event will be held to coincide with the World Press Freedom Day celebrations held on 3rd May each year.
Below is the list of nominees and winners in the various categories in 1st Annual Media Council of Kenya Journalist of the Year Awards held on 4th May 2012
i. ICT and Telecommunications’ Award 
Print entries shortlisted
1.   James Rawlings – 2nd Runners Up
2.   David Herbling – 1st Runners Up
3.   Antony Gitonga – Winner (The Standard)
Television shortlisted
1.   Catherine Nasimiyu – Runners Up
2.   Andrew Ochieng – Winner (Citizen TV)
1.   John Nene – Winner (BBC)
ii. Children and Youth Affairs Award
Print entries shortlisted
1.   Joy Wanja – 1st Runners Up
2.   Mwaura Samora – 2nd Runners Up
3.   Joe Kiarie – Winner (The Standard Newspaper)
TV entries shortlisted
1.   Evelyne Wambui – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Pamela Asigi – 1st Runners Up
3.   Rose Wangui – Winner (NTV)
iii. Science and Environment Award
Print entries shortlisted
1.   Iddi Musyimi – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Anthony Gitonga – 1st Runners Up
3.   Wanjohi Kabukuru – Winner (Diplomat East Africa)
iv. Health and Terminal Illnesses’ Award
Television entries shortlisted
1.   Irene Choge – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Evelyne Wambui – 1st Runners Up
3.   John Allan Namu – Winner (NTV)
Print entries shortlisted
1.   Diana Mwango – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Joe Ombuor – 1st Runners Up
3.   Joy Wanja – Winner (Nation Newspaper)
v. Gender Award
1.   Ali Hassan – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Isaac Ongiri – 1st Runners Up
3.   Carolyne Wafula – Winner (Sunday Nation)
1.   Ferdinand Omondi – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Joy Mkawasi – 1st Runners Up
3.   Josephine Maina – Winner (K24 TV)
vi. Sports Award
1.   Phares Mutembei – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Elias Makori – 1st Runners Up
3.   Jonathan Komen – Winner (Daily Nation)
vii. Arts, Culture and Travel Award
Print shortlisted entries
1.   Rawlings Otieno – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Joy Wanja – 1st Runners
3.   Nicholas Anyuor – Winner (The Standard Newspaper)
Television entries shortlisted
1.   James Smart
2.   Jeff Koinange – 1st Runners Up
3.   Lulu Hassan – Winner (KTN)
viii. Photographer of the Year Award
Print shortlisted stories
1.   Jennifer Muiruri – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Moses Omusula – 1st Runners Up
3.   Collins Kweyu – Winner (The Standard)
ix. Cartoonist of the year Award
Print shortlisted stories
1.   Samuel Muigai – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Eric Jacob – 1st Runners Up
3.   Victor Amatieku – Winner (Star Newspaper)
x. Business Award
Print shortlisted stories
1.   Constant Mundia – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Boniface Ongeri – 1st Runners Up
3.   Abel Kabiru – Winner (Think Business magazine)
xi. Good Governance Award
Radio shortlisted stories
1.   Marciella Wamoyi – Runners Up
2.   Kioko Kivandi – Winner (Radio Amani)
1.   Calvin Chitwa – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Munira Mohammed – 1st Runners Up
3.   Judy Kosgei/Justus Onyango – Winner (Citizen TV)
xii. Development Award
1.   Rawlings Otieno – 2nd Runner Up
2.   Joy Wanja – 1st Runners Up
3.   Joseph Wambugu – Winner (The People Newspaper)
Television stories
1.   Isabella Kituri – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Rose Wangui – 1st Runners Up
3.   Francis Mutegi – Winner (NTV)
xiii. Young Journalist of the Year Award
1.   Njoki Chege – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Emannuel Sabuni – 1st Runners Up
3.   Frankline Sunday – Winner (Business Daily)
1.   Saida Swaleh – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Willis Raburu – 1st Runners Up
3.   Job Mwaura – Winner (Citizen TV)
xiv. Reporter of the Year
1.   Ferdinand Omondi – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Dennis Onsarigo – 1ST Runners Up
3.   Mohammed Ali – Winner (KTN)
1.   Dann Okoth – Runners Up
2.   Nyambega Gisesa – Winner (Nation Newspapers)
xv. Cameraman of the Year
Television stories
1.   Edwin Mwai – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Eugene Osiadana – 1ST Runners Up
3.   Mauritius Oduor – Winner (Citizen TV)
xvi. News anchor of the Year – Television
1.   Michael Njenga – 2nd Runners Up
2.   Swaleh Mdoe – 1st Runners Up
3.   Smriti Vidyarthi – Winner (NTV)
xvii. Journalist of the Year
1.   Nyambega Gisesa – 2nd Runners Up
2.   John Allan Namu – 1st Runners Up
3.   Mohammed Ali – Winner (KTN)
© nairobiwire.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss