President Kenyatta Receives Credentials From Six New Envoys

December 8, 2021

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Tuesday at State House, Nairobi received credentials from six new ambassadors posted to Kenya.

The President received diplomatic papers from Firas Farhan Saleh Khouri (Jordan), Cristina Diaz Fernadez-Gil (Spain) and Silvio Jose Albuquerque e Silva (Brazil).

Others were Dragos Viorel Radu Tigau (Romania), Juan Manuel Rodgriguez Vazguez (Cuba) and Lebbius Tangani Tobias of Namibia who is non-residential.

In his welcoming remarks, the President reiterated Kenya’s commitment to the strengthening of bilateral ties with the respective countries, and wished them a successful tour of duty in the country.

“Welcome to Nairobi, welcome home. Namibians and Kenyans are brothers and sisters, when you are here, always feel as part of us.

“Our relationship has been very strong both at a personal and at country level. We want to see through you how we can deepen that partnership, that relationship- not just political but also going down to economic and cultural exchanges and exchanges in other fields that are mutually beneficial to the two of us,” President Kenyatta welcomed the new Namibian envoy.

Foreign Affairs CS Raychelle Omamo, Head of Public Service Dr Joseph Kinyua and PS Macharia Kamau were among senior Government officials at the brief ceremony.

At the same time, President Kenyatta bade farewell to outgoing Japan’s ambassador to Kenya Ryoichi Horie who paid him a courtesy call at State House, Nairobi.

At the meeting, attended by Foreign Affairs CS Raychelle Omamo and Head of Public Service Dr Joseph Kinyua, the President thanked the outgoing envoy for helping deepen Kenya-Japan bilateral ties.

Uhuru observed that several transformative projects, supported by the Japanese Government, had taken off during Amb Ryoichi’s tenure among them the Dongo Kundu Special Economic Zone.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss