Uhuru Kenyatta Declared Winner of 2017 Election

August 11, 2017

It’s official. What Kenyans have known since Tuesday night has now been made official.

President Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta has been re-elected and will now serve his second and final term as president, with Deputy President William Ruto as his deputy.

The announcement was made on Friday night by IEBC chairman Wafula Chebukati, after verification of the physical Form 34As and Form 34Bs.

Uhuru Kenyatta has clinched the presidency with 8,203,290 votes (54.27%) against Raila’s 6,762,224 (44.74%). Uhuru’s numbers are well above the constitutional threshold of 50% + 1. A total of 15,073,662 Kenyans voted representing a 78.91% turnout.

Since morning, Cabinet Secretaries, Jubilee officials and politicians started arriving at Bomas, and it was clear what direction the announcement was going.

A few minutes to 1 pm, Nasa principals Raila Odinga, Kalonzo Musyoka and Musalia Mudavadi arrived at Bomas of Kenya and headed straight to a meeting with IEBC officials. They left a few hours later and demanded that IEBC does not announce the results.

The final announcement was scheduled for Friday afternoon, but ended up being pushed until 9pm when the chairman took the podium.

This declaration brings to an end the voting exercise that began on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss