gamblersMembers of parliament have formed a committee of 11 to probe Kenya’s gambling industry for the sake of regulation.

Majority Leader of the National Assembly Aden Duale and deputy Minority Leader Jakoyo Midiwo will lead the team.

The committee is expected to table a report of their findings and recommendations in 14 days.

The MPs include: Kanini Kega (Kieni), Thomas Mwadeghu (Wundanyi), Samuel Gichigi (Kipipiri), Samuel Chepkonga (Ainabkoi) and Benjamin Langat (Ainamoi).

Kanini Kega will serve as Vice Chair.

Others are Soipan Tuya (Narok woman representative), Dorcas Kedogo (Vihiga woman representative), Daniel Maanzo (Makueni) and Mary Keraa (Kisii woman representative).

Jakoyo Midiwo on Wednesday said in a notice that the industry is crucial as the number of companies is rising and people can easily gamble by phone.