Nairobi Governor Mike Sonko has suspended 16 county officials to pave way for a probe into Precious Talent School tragedy that claimed the lives of eight children on Monday.

Among those suspended is one of Sonko’s closest allies- County Executive Committee Member for Finance and Economic Planning Charles Kerich.

The ‘super CEC’ is also the immediate former County Executive Committee Member for Lands and Urban Planning.

In a strongly-worded statement on Wednesday, Sonko said his administration shall not tolerate any form of corruption, incompetence or lethargy that may jeopardize the lives of, or negatively affect service delivery to Nairobi residents.

“I am convinced beyond doubt that drastic measures have to be taken to reverse the effects of years of flouting Physical Planning Regulations and restore order and sanity before illegal structures claim more lives as has repeatedly happened before. Given the foregoing, I have, therefore, suspended the following Nairobi City County Government officials with immediate effect, to facilitate impartial investigations that have commenced into this unfortunate incident and the conclusion of the ongoing comprehensive systems audit in the Urban Planning Department,” Sonko said.

The 16 officials are;

1.Charles Kerich, the current County Executive Committee Member (CECM) for Finance and Economic Planning, who is the immediate former CECM for Lands and Urban Planning

2. Mohammed Dagane – CECM Health (responsible for general public health and safety)

3. Justus Kathenge, suspended County Chief Officer for Urban Planning (to continue in suspension)

4. Jusper Ndeke, Director Planning Compliance and Enforcement

5. Dominic Mutegi, Development Management Director

6. Ochanda Ondari Fredrick, Assistant Director Enforcement

7. Ruth Waruguru, Director Urban Planning

8. Thomas Dudi, Assistant Director Planning

9. Simon Onyango, Development Officer (regularization of buildings/approval of architectural plans)

10. Alex Mucheru, Development Control (overseeing approvals of buildings and schools on behalf of public health and safety)

11. Mackline Saitera, Development Control (approval of building plans and school inspection)

12. Edna Guantai, In-charge of approval of public buildings and schools on behalf of public health

13. Joyce Kyengo, Dagoretti South Sub-County Administrator

14. Lucy Wairimu Munyika, Dagoretti South Sub-County Commander.

15. Sylivia Mwikali Nthinga, Dagoretti South Sub-County Planning Officer

16. Okal Kennedy, Ngando Ward Administrator.

Sonko appointed Pauline Kahiga as the acting CEC for Finance and Economic Planning and Veska Kangogo as the acting CEC for Health.