A Ballon d’Or award for goalkeepers will be handed out for the first time this year, the organisers, France Football magazine, announced on Thursday.

The Yashin Trophy will be named after the Soviet international, Lev Yashin, the only goalkeeper to have won the Ballon d’Or itself.

The Ballon d’Or for best male player was first awarded in 1956, to Stanley Matthews. It is voted on by journalists. Last year, an award for best female player was added. It was won by Norway’s Ada Hegerberg.

A shortlist for the prizes in the three categories will be announced on October 21.

This year’s winners will be revealed in a ceremony on December 2.

Yashin, a Moscow native who played 21 seasons with local outfit Dynamo, won the Ballon d’Or in 1963 and was revered in his day as the world’s finest ‘keeper’.

He would also take part in four World Cups and later worked in various roles at Dynamo Moscow and for the Soviet sports ministry.

Yashin was hugely respected in the Football world and treated like a King across the World.

And just like Yashin, you may not have the opportunity to win the Ballon D’Or in your lifetime, but you can experience the life and treatment of a King by simply logging in to Bet Palace or send sms JOIN to 29085 and start your walk to fame and fortune.

All you need to do is register, drop your deposit (minimum is Ksh 50 Bob) to PayBill 290085, place your bet – you can do multiple bets – and just like that, Bet Palace offers you an immediate Mflame Bonus worth Ksh 2000.

The fun part is that the bonus will be rewarded to you whether you WIN or LOSE.

Also, the bonus doesn’t expire and you can redeem it till you exhaust it all.

Lastly, No minimum odds per team picked, just pick any odds, any field up to odds above 4.

Want to be like Yashin? Well, you don’t need to be a goal keeper. Or play in huge football stadiums. Just log on to Bet Palace and get the feeling of Kings.